Hd TV/Hd Life – Bringing you the brighter picture


I am currently reading a phenomenal book called ‘The Power of Now’ as recommended to me by my friend Daniel (Thanks dude!)  This book, written by Eckhart Tolle is an international bestseller and claims to transform your thinking to one of more joy.  RIGHT NOW! Therefore, its well worth reading just based on seeing If this is true!

It was whilst reading this book that a few comparisons were drawn to me with regards to HD TV or Higher Definition TV.  The book describes how we could all live a far more joyful life; a more spiritually enlightened life If we just stop our thinking and switch off our inner dialogue and live in the moment.  I am of the firm belief that living in the present moment is the key to happiness.  I know this because I have experienced both living life in the present moment & life living in the ‘thinking about the past/worrying about the future’ and hence know which one brings far more joy.  Eckhart Tolle goes on to say that this inner dialogue that the majority of us hear in our heads is our ego and not us and by us recognising this and watching this occuring, we are able to stop it from continuing and instead live in the here and now.  Our mind is such a powerful tool but is to be used in the same way that you would use your arm to lift something or your leg to kick something.  Only when necessary.  The majority of us have incessant chatter going on in our heads for most of the day and a lot of us think that is normal.  Well I (and Eckhart Tolle ) are here to tell you that it is not.  And by us thinking constantly about what happened before and what may happen in the future, we are actually limiting ourselves from enjoying what life has to offer us.  RIGHT NOW!

This leads me onto the HD TV comparison.  It was whilst at my brother’s house yesterday and he was showing me the difference between HD TV and normal TV that it suddenly clicked.  Too many of us are living our lives in normal definition and not enough of us are experiencing life in HIGHER DEFINITION.  And by HIGHER DEFINITION I mean experiencing the colours, the sounds, the tastes, the information, the touch that life is offering to us RIGHT NOW! And this is because we are too caught up in our minds about what happened in our past or what our future  holds and therefore letting our minds control us instead of being in control of our minds!

This reminds me of my favourite quote  as said by my beautiful friend Shanaz way back in 2006.  She said ‘It is what it is.  Not what it could be.  Not what it should be.  It is what it is’  which sums up pretty much what I am want to get across.  Accept whats happened before and let go of it so that you can experience what is happening to you RIGHT NOW.  Again, another key to happiness.  ACCEPTANCE.  We cant change the past or control the future but we can LIVE the PRESENT moment to the fullest.  So stop thinking PAST TENSE and start living PRE TENSE and do so at an INTENSE level so that you get full enjoyment of the experience.  Life is rapidly advancing and moving forward as HD TV is proving so release the old and let in the new and see it, feel it, touch it and smell it in HIGHER DEFINITION! Are you ready!?!?

8 responses to “Hd TV/Hd Life – Bringing you the brighter picture

  1. This is really a great piece of work Michelle..!

    I especially love the quote ‘It is what it is. Not what it could be. Not what it should be. It is what it is…’ I think I’ve just found my new facebook status!^^

    Much Luv!
    🙂

  2. Thanks for the honour! I think people should start thinking about 3D tellies too! As said today:

    To realise the value of ONE YEAR, ask the student who has failed a grade.

    To realise the value of ONE MONTH, ask the mother of a premature baby.

    To realise the value of ONE WEEK, ask the editor of a weekly newspaper.

    To realise the value of ONE DAY, ask the labourer who has children to feed.

    To realise the value of ONE HOUR, ask the couple who are waiting to meet after a long separation.

    To realise the value of ONE MINUTE, ask the person who has missed the train.

    To realise the value of ONE SECOND, ask the person who has avoided an accident.

    To realise the value of ONE MILLISECOND, ask the person who has won a bronze medal in the Olympics.

    Treasure every moment you have and remember that time waits for no one.

    Yesterday is a memory.

    Tomorrow a dream.

    Today is the day of value; a day of reflection; a day of self-assessment.

  3. Love this!!! Its all soo true and I can actually hear you saying it as I’m reading it. Love your quote too Shanaz, may have to steal that one at some point!!

  4. That very was insightful Michelle.
    Have you read Eckharts other book, “A New Earth”? It’s a great book as well.

  5. this is powerful, your blog is very interesting

  6. GREAT anology. I’m big on goal setting, so a lot of times I tend on focusing on the futures instead of enjoying the riches that I have today. This was a GREAT reminder to me (and I’m sure everyone else) that the moment we are in is the most important, especially considering the past has passed and the future is not guaranted. Thank you!

    Oh yea, new website will be built soon. I’ll let you know when its up

Leave a Reply

